Armony in health 29 August, 2018 Maria Clara Restrepo E.
Despite not eating products such as wheat, barley, rye and oats, some patients do not experience improvement. Find out why this happens.
According to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, the first thing a person who is allergic to gluten should do is make sure that they are truly following a gluten-free diet and that this protein is not being consumed in an inadvertent way.
There are two reasons, however, why symptoms may persist:
- The most common reason is that the symptoms come from another disease other than celiac disease. Just as the population that is not celiac, a celiac patient may have several related medical conditions such as: an overpopulation of bacterial microorganisms, lactose intolerance, digestive issues caused by helicobacter pylori, or irritable bowel syndrome. It is important to be aware of your symptoms and not think that all gastrointestinal diseases are caused by celiac disease.
- In rare or exceptional cases, the patient may have refractory celiac disease, which means they do not respond to a gluten-free diet. These are clinical cases that require a special assessment and medical attention.
What can you not eat if you are allergic?
Wheat, barley, rye, bread and its derivatives, biscuits, cakes, pastries, pasta, sweets made with wafers, beer and distilled or fermented beverages from grains (such as whiskey or vodka), and manufactured products in which any of the mentioned flours in any of its forms is an ingredient (starch, protein).
Keep in mind: in general, people who have celiac disease will have no problem eating fresh foods (meat, fish, milk, eggs, fruits and raw nuts), and should avoid eating bread, pasta and products with wheat, rye and barley derivatives.
Related article: Living with Celiac disease? How to follow a gluten-free diet